The Flamingo Park Holiday Historic Home Tour

Do you have any plans tonight? How about we drink champagne, snack on catered treats like spring rolls, crab cakes and warm cookies? Then we can check out the Christmas lights adorning the beautiful homes along a few blocks.  Better yet…some gracious residents have also invited us in to tour their historic homes filled with holiday cheer and 1920 architecture.  If this sounds like your kind of night, then you should join us next year on the Flamingo Park Holiday Historic Home Tour!

This year was the 21st season of the tour.  As over 500 guests lined up at the Armory Art Center to get their tickets and the tour map all I could do was jump up and down in anticipation to enter the first home and clinch my champagne glass with my friends joining me.  This is what the season is all about to me.  Enjoying time with family and friends, supporting your local arts society and getting the unique opportunity to visit historic homes that are beautifully decorated and have so much architectural history!

The first stop was on Kanuga St.  This home was filled with eclectic decor with vintage pieces and lots of Chicago brick.  There was an elegant table setting as I entered the home that made me want to nestle in a seat and join them for a holiday feast! The second stop (may have been my favorite) was Flamingo Dr and had a British Colonial library with rich dark woods and a beautiful tree in the corner.  Once I moved beyond the stunning library, I was pleasantly surprised to see Art Deco accents all throughout the home.  It wouldn’t be fair if I didn’t mention the home on Claremore Dr. that had original tile details with a pecky cypress ceiling and a stunning fireplace with a balcony above it.  The gargoyle perching at the top brought me back to my visit to London where I was mesmerized by the gargoyles that protected Notre Dame.

I hope you can join us next year.  Until then..here are a few pictures I took (while holding a champagne glass and a treat)….

Special thanks to the Armory Art Center for partnering with the FPNA on this event.  Visit Flamingopark.net for next years details.

photo credits: All taken by yours truly!

xxxooo-Jamie

Let me know what you think!

